Blockbuster”; “This is a farce”: Fans mock LIV Golf’s ‘failed’ transfer window after teams make zero deals

This season, LIV Golf introduced its first “transfer window,” a move meant to align the circuit with the operations of other sports leagues. As of two weeks into the four-week “window,” no trade has occurred.

Fans expressed a range of emotions on social media, indicating that this was not lost on them. The majority of responses argued that a program such as LIV Golf’s “transfer window” has no place in the professional golf world.

This is a farce, a user on X (formerly Twitter) commented.

“Blockbuster” was the sarcastic comment made by another user regarding the situation.

Here are some additional responses from X:
“Nobody is concerned. Even Living doesn’t give a damn,” a fan wrote.

“Nobody is concerned. In golf, there is no matter-trading involved. Another fan wrote, “One week someone plays well, one week someone plays poorly.
Another fan wrote, “Man, I’ve been on pins and needles for weeks about this…said no one ever!”

“Players of LIV don’t give a damn. Naturally, nobody else will,” a different user commented.

In 2023, LIV Golf held a transfer window during which a number of adjustments were made. The most talked-about was that of Talor Gooch, the season’s individual champion, who was traded for Matt Wolff by his previous team, RangeGoats GC, to Brooks Koepka’s Smash GC.

Team rosters for LIV Golf at a glance
The LIV Golf teams will stay the same until the conclusion of the 2024 competitive schedule if the current circumstances hold until the end of the transfer window. Put another way, the current rosters of the 13 teams will remain in place:

4Aces GC
Captain: Dustin Johnson
Patrick Reed
Pat Perez
Harold Varner III
Cleeks GC
Captain: Martin Kaymer
Richard Bland
Adrian Meronk
Kalle Samooja
Crushers GC
Captain: Bryson DeChambeau
Paul Casey
Charles Howell III
Anirban Lahiri
Fireballs GC

Captain: Sergio Garcia
Abraham Ancer
Eugenio Chacarra
David Puig
HyFlyers GC
Captain: Phil Mickelson
Cameron Tringale
Brendan Steele
Andy Ogletree
Iron Heads GC
Captain: Kevin Na
Danny Lee
Scott Vincent
Jinichiro Kozuma
Legion XIII
Captain: Jon Rahm
Tyrrell Hatton
Caleb Surratt
Kieran Vincent
Majesticks GC

Co-captain: Henrik Stenson
Co-captain: Ian Poulter
Co-captain: Lee Westwood
Sam Horsfield
RangeGoats GC

Captain: Bubba Watson
Thomas Pieters
Peter Uihlein
Matthew Wolff
Rippers GC
Captain: Cam Smith
Marc Leishman
Matt Jones
Lucas Herbert
Smash GC
Captain: Brooks Koepka
Jason Kokrak
Talor Gooch
Graeme McDowell
Stinger GC
Captain: Louis Oosthuizen
Charl Schwartzel
Branden Grace
Dean Burmester
Torque GC

Captain: Joaquin Niemann
Mito Pereira
Sebastian Munoz
Carlos Ortiz
Anthony Kim and Hudson Swafford are the two wild cards that the league uses to round out its 54-player roster. Additionally, it has backup players to cover for injuries both on a long-term basis and during competitions. Among the reserves are players like Laurie Canter, Andy Ogletree, and Wade Ormsby.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.