The Presidents Cup will not include any players from the LIV Golf League, according to international captain Mike Weir.

LIV Golf League players will not be permitted to compete in the Presidents Cup this September, as confirmed by international captain Mike Weir. However, they may be permitted to do so in 2026.

Having participated in the biennial competition as a player five times between 2000 and 2009, Weir, 53, is taking the helm of the International Presidents Cup team for the first time in his career.

Additionally, he led the team as vice captain twice.

Given that the PGA Tour is hosting the Presidents Cup, many golf fans probably won’t be too surprised that all LIV Golf League players have been disqualified from the competition, at least for the time being.

The USA won the 2022 Presidents Cup at Quail Hollow by a margin of five points (17.5–12.5), exactly in the same manner.

The PGA Tour has suspended all members who have shifted to LIV Golf.

During a media conference call this afternoon, Weir confirmed that LIV Golf players are not eligible to compete in the 2024 Presidents Cup:

“I definitely want the top players in the world to compete in the Presidents Cup.” I hope we get to a place where they are. We’re just unfortunate to be in this situation at the moment. I’ve been informed they aren’t qualified. They won’t be qualified now, but perhaps in the future—perhaps in Chicago in 2026—they will be. It’s unfortunate. Although we would prefer the best players, I think our team is good. Right now, our team looks fantastic, but as captain, I believe that we want to play the best players in the world against the best players in the United States.

The latest decision means that Weir’s International team at the Royal Montreal Golf Club from September 26–29 will not feature players such as a fiery Joaquin Niemann, Cameron Smith, Mito Pereira, Carlos Ortiz, Sebastian Munoz, and Abraham Ancer.

In addition, it will mean that players like Talor Gooch, Dustin Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau, and Brooks Koepka will no longer be a part of Jim Furyk’s American team.

A division of the PGA TOUR is the Presidents Cup. I’m not sure why it would come as such a shock that LIV golfers are not playing this year.

Weir stated that he will do well to work with what he has and that the team currently appears great (Min Woo, Hideki, Nick T, etc. rounding into form).

For the tenth time in a row, the US is attempting to win the Presidents Cup.

If the United States of America triumphs once more, it will be their thirteenth time holding the trophy since the Presidents Cup’s founding in 1994.

The Internationals drew the game in 2003 as well as winning it in 1998.

Presidents Cup Past Results
2022 United States 17.5-12.5
2019 United States 16-14
2017 United States 19-11
2015 United States 15.5-14.5
2013 United States 18.5-15.5
2011 United States 19-15
2009 United States 19.5-14.5
2007 United States 19.5-14.5
2005 United States 18.5-15.5
2003 Tied 17-17
2000 United States 21.5-12.5
1998 International 20.5-11.5
1996 United States 16.5-15.5
1994 United States 20-12

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.